Skip to main content


In collaboration with
Primo Levi Center
Center for Italian Modern Art

“The Triumph of Bacchus and Ariadne”

Concert for piano and choir after the poem by
Lorenzo Il Magnifico (1449-1492)

Music by
Vittorio Rieti (1898-1994)

Concept and design by
Corrado Cagli (1910-1976)
for George Balanchine’s Ballet Society (1948)

Featuring Cantori New York:
Mark Shapiro, Artistic Director
Shelén Hughes, soprano
Matthew Anchel, bass
Baron Fenwick, piano

First New York performance since its 1948 premiere
On the occasion of the exhibition of Corrado Cagli’s work
“Transatlantic Bridges: Corrado Cagli 1938-1938”
Center for Italian Modern Art (closing on January 27, 2024)

Followed by a presentation by
Raffaele Bedarida
Author of “Corrado Cagli: Transatlantic Bridges 1938-1948”, CPL Editions 2023 About the concert

The Library for the Performing Arts, Lincoln Center
January 30, 2024

Explore Similar Videos